26th of January, 2017: It was my third time in Vijayawada, but the first time I was free to explore the place. It was a small city buzzing with commercial activity and had amazing places around which could be visited on a one day trip.

I drove to Vijayawada from Tirupati on NH16 which was an amazing stretch connecting Chennai to Kolkata through Vijayawada but being a very significant for commercial purposes, the road had many trucks plying. It had been a month since i rode 400 km on a single day so I decided I was going to take as many breaks as required to keep riding comfortably. On the way I met Sridhar, a biker from Chennai who was on his way to Hyderabad to spend time with friends on the long weekend ahead. I took a short break chatting with him and proceeded to Vijayawada with a few more breaks on the way. On the way to Vijayawada I happened to cross Chilakaluripeta which was on the route of my first ever bike tour back in 2014. Entire coastal Andhra buzzes with agricultural activity throughout the year and its always a pleasure riding on those roads through the fields and plantations.

I reached Vijayawada in less than 6 hours and had a lot of time remaining in the day to roam around the city. I went to my relatives’ place at Vijayawada and took some rest for a  few hours. Later in the evening my cousin and I headed out to Prakasam Barrage, which is a 1.2 km long dam, providing some greats views and a nice place to walk. It gets even more beautiful in the late evenings as it’s lit up colorfully. We spent some time there and then rode around the city and reached home later in the evening. We had chicken biryani for dinner from one of the restaurants available and it was a different kind of biryani altogether. I planned to ride to the beach the next morning and had a good sleep.

img_20170126_113441070_hdr
Tirupati to Vijayawada
img_20170126_120947549
Tirupati to Vijayawada
img_20170126_123453185
Tirupati to Vijayawada
img_20170126_180846265
Near Prakasam barrage
